Home

Proxmox single disk ZFS

I am pretty new to Proxmox and home servers. My plan is to slowly set up a media server, as I learn along the way. So, starting with the basics, my current setup consists of a single 500GB ssd for the OS and VMs, and a single 8TB hdd for media. Both are set up as separate ZFS pools If you installed Proxmox on a single disk with ZFS on root, then you just have a pool with single, single-disk vdev. You could later add another disk and turn that into the equivalent of raid 1 by adding it to the existing vdev, or raid 0 by adding it as another single disk vdev. Even with a single disk, ZFS gets you lots of capabilities. Things like snapshots and send/receive to other ZFS. Convert local-lvm to zfs on a single disk cluster-installation. Thread starter sender; Start date Jul 7, 2021; Forums. Proxmox Virtual Environment. Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration . sender New Member. Apr 9, 2021 29 0 1 43. Jul 7, 2021 #1 So I have added my 2nd node in a proxmox cluster . I wanted to use replicate and discovered I needed ZFS for that... bump. So I have been. ZFS is a combined file system and logical volume manager designed by Sun Microsystems. Starting with Proxmox VE 3.4, the native Linux kernel port of the ZFS file system is introduced as optional file system and also as an additional selection for the root file system. There is no need for manually compile ZFS modules - all packages are included

Is ZFS worth it on a single disk? : Proxmo

1. zfs set volsize=32G rpool/data/vm-100-disk-2 (shrinking the disk to 32 GB) To see the result in Proxmox GUI, detach and add disk after the change. Proxmox7 fresh reinstall (a week old) on a brand new 500GB disk broken due to disk being full. 300GB of free space in 24 hours. Never had this issue with 6, 2nd time now on 7